Date: Monday, 19 November 2018
Time: 6 – 7 pm
Venue: Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, Russell Square, London

will be given by
Lady Hale of Richmond
President of the Supreme Court

Statute or case law: how should we develop the law?

Chair: Lord Justice Sales

This is a free event and all are welcome. To register click here.



To download the slide presentation that accompanied Law Commissioner Prof David Ormerod QC’s lecture to the Society on 25 June 2018 click here

To watch a video of the talk given to the Society by Prof. Thomas Poole of the LSE on 19 March 2018, click here.


Statute Law Society Conference
Friday, 9 May 2019
Save the date. Details will be circulated in the Autumn.


To receive alerts about lectures consider joining the Society.  For membership details click here.


Lord Dyson, President of the Society
Master of the Rolls 2012 – 2016.
Justice of the Supreme Court 2010 – 2012.
Head of Civil Justice 2003 – 2010.
Lord Justice of Appeal in Ordinary 2001-2010.
Justice of the High Court (Queen’s Bench Division) 1993 – 2001.
Appointed a Recorder in 1986.
Called to the Bar by Middle Temple in 1968 and took Silk in 1982.
Member of the Council of the Society since 2011.

The Rt Hon. Lord Justice Philip Sales, Chairman of the Society
Appeal Court Judge, 2014 - 
High Court Judge, Chancery Division 2008 – 2014.
Called to the Bar by Lincoln’s Inn in 1985 and took Silk in 2006.
Appointed a Recorder in 1999.
Appointed First Treasury Junior Counsel in 1997.
Appointed First Treasury Counsel in 2006.
Member of the Council of the Society since 2008.

Professor Gavin Drewry
Emeritus Professor of Public Administration, Royal Holloway, University of London.
Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Laws, University College, London.
Member of the Executive Committee of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences.
and former Chairman of the Study of Parliament Group.
Member of the Editorial Board, Statute Law Review.
Has published widely in the areas of public sector reform, the role of appellate courts and parliamentary procedure.
Member of the Council of the Society since 1995.

Denis Edwards, LLB (Glasgow), LLM (Osgoode Hall), Barrister
Practising barrister, specialising in Public Law, with particular reference to the
law relating to the European Union, education, equality and human rights.
Formerly Lecturer in Law, University of Strathclyde and
Assistant Professor of Law, City University, Hong Kong.
Publications include Judicial Review (with Lord Clyde).
Member of the Council of the Society since 2004.
Honorary Treasurer of the Society 2004-2014.

The Hon. Mr Justice Neil Garnham
High Court Judge, Queen’s Bench Division 2015 -
Called to the Bar by Middle Temple in 1982 and took Silk in 2001.
Appointed a Recorder in 1999 and Deputy High Court Judge in 2008.
Member of the Council of the Society since 2017.

Daniel Greenberg
Lord Chancellor’s Department, Legal Adviser, 1988-1991.
Parliamentary Counsel, Parliamentary Counsel Office, London, 1991-2010.
Consultant, Berwin Leighton Paisner LLP, 2010-2016.
Counsel, Office of Speaker’s Counsel, House of Commons, 2010-2016. 
Counsel for Domestic Legislation, House of Commons, 2016 -
General Editor, Annotated Statutes, Westlaw UK, 2008 -
General Editor, Insight Encyclopaedia, Westlaw UK, 2011 -
Editor, Craies on Legislation, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016.
Editor, Stroud’s Judicial Dictionary, 2000, 2006, 2012, 2016.
General Editor, Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law 2010, 2015.
Editor in Chief, Statute Law Review (OUP), 2012 -
Associate Research Fellow, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, 2009 -
Instructor, Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Legislative Drafting, Athabasca University, 2015 -
Director, Constitution Reform Group, 2015 -
External Fellow, Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law, February 2016 -
Member of the Council of the Society since 2017.

Rosemary Jeffreys, LLB (Bristol), LLM (London), MA (UCL)
Bencher of Gray’s Inn.
Member of Government Legal Service from 1980 – 2012.
Specalist in employment, constitutional and EU law.
Member of European Group of Public Law and member of the Editorial Board of The Industrial Law Journal.

Michael Jennings
Senior Lawyer, Home Office 2014 - 
Senior Legal Adviser, Attorney General’s Office 2011-2014
Crown Advocate, CPS HQ, Special Crime Division 2009-2011
Senior Crown Prosecutor and Crown Advocate, CPS London 1994-2009
Chairman of the Employed Barrister Committee and member Bar Council, General Management Committee
Elected Member of the Bar Council 2014-
Called to the Bar, Gray’s Inn 1994
Member of the Council of the Society since 2010.

Neville March Hunnings, LLB (London), PhD (London)
Founding Editor, Commercial Laws of Europe.
Editor, Encyclopaedia of European Union Law – Constitutional Texts.
Formerly Editor, Common Market Law Reports.
Formerly member of the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Legal Education and Conduct (ACLEC).
Publications include Film Censors and the Law and The European Courts.
Member of the Council of the Society since 1983.

Colin Lee
Clerk of Bills, House of Commons.
Chair of the Study of Parliament Group.
Has been a Clerk in the House of Commons since 1988.
Member of the Council of the Society since 2015.

 Alec Samuels, JP, BA (Cantab), Barrister
Formerly Reader in Law, University of Southampton.
Has published extensively on a wide variety of legal topics.
Member of the Council of the Society since 1985.